My Top 5 Favourite Beers

Well seeing as how my write-up on my top 5 LEAST favourite beers generated more hits and feedback than anything I had written previously (thanks for that) I thought it was only fitting to follow-up it up immediately with the other side of the story.  So I present to you my top 5 FAVOURITE beers.  Once again I encourage commentary and feedback.  Reach out to me on Twitter @towineman, comment right here on the Blog, or write to me at towineman@gmail.com.

Once again for clarification these are based on mainstream beers only.  Beers that are readily available on general list at either the Beer Store of the LCBO.  So again the beer you might have tried once as the guest tap at Bar Volo (http://blog.barvolo.com/) or C’est What (http://www.cestwhat.com/) doesn’t qualify.  Sorry @beerhunter4u I know that excludes a lot of your favourites.

So here we go… my top 5 favourite beers.

5. Guinness – http://www.guinness.com/en-ca/
Is this considered a cop out because it’s arguably the most popular beer in the world?    Regardless Guinness has to make the list.  Beyond their unmatched marketing savvy, Guinness is a wonderful beer. Many people get hung up on how dark it is in colour assuming then that it’s going to be a big heavy beer.  But it’s only 4.2%alc and it’s one of the smoothest beers around.  Plus I have had the good fortune of visiting the legendary Guinness brewery and once you have tasted a fresh pint poured for you, at the top of the Gravity Bar overloooking all of Dublin, you can’t help but place this beer on your list.

4. Sleeman Original – http://www.sleeman.ca/
Everyone has their “go to” beer.  Your first choice when you go to the Beer Store to get a standard 24.  It’s generally well priced and easy drinking.  This way you can afford to buy it repeatedly and can drink many of them in one sitting.  For me that beer is Sleeman Original.  Sure I graduated from the University of Guelph, the home of Sleeman.  Sure the brewery happened to be a frequent visit of mine and one of the best pre-drinking spots in all of Guelph.  But I stand by this beer through and through and I love it. Plus for $33.95 for 24, I challenge you to find a better deal.

3. Innis & Gunn Scotch Ale – http://www.innisandgunn.com/en/home/character.aspx
If you haven’t tried Innis & Gunn yet you are missing out.  Especially if you also enjoy Whiskey.  Innis & Gunn employs a very unique brewing process in that the beer is actually aged in used oak barrels.   American Bourbon barrels to be exact.  So the whiskey flavour is actually imparted subtly into the beer, giving a very unique and distinct flavour.  It might not be for everyone but this is certainly one of my personal favourites.

2. Flying Monkeys Hoptical Illusion – http://theflyingmonkeys.ca/
Did you know that Flying Monkeys Brewery was once Robert Simpson Brewery?  Talk about the successes of rebranding.  Flying Monkeys is now one of Ontario’s most successful craft brewery’s.  I love just about every one of their beers but my personal favourite is the Hoptical Illusion. Sure it’s loaded with hops and full of flavour but it’s not overwhelming so you can still enjoy a couple of these without overdoing it.  Plus it’s Ontario brewed and independently owned which I can’t lie certainly get’s it bonus points.

1. Muskoka Cottage Brewing, Mad Tom IPA – http://www.muskokabrewery.com/
At #1 we have an IPA.  By nature it is loaded with dry hops and this one doesn’t disappoint.      This is a big craft beer from a nice little micro brewery in the heart of Ontario’s luxurious Muskoka region.  For those that can’t stomach a big IPA try the Muskoka Lager or Cream Ale, both of which are great beers.  But for me it’s the IPA.  The reason it makes #1 on this list is if I am craving a beer, and I mean a beer that tastes like beer, I routinely find myself wanting the Mad Tom.  Personally I think that defines a #1 beer.

Honourable Mention:
– Lake of Bays Pale Ale
– Killkenny
– Dead Elephant
– Mickeys (yes because of the little games inside the caps)

– Mark
Follow me on Twitter: @towineman 

2 thoughts on “My Top 5 Favourite Beers

  1. Wel,l we share one the same. My top 5 off the top of my head are. Muskoka Mad Tom, Great Lakes Crazy Canuck, Fullers London Porter, Flying Monkeys Netherworld, Flying Monkeys Smashbomb. Almost made the list are Pilsner Urquell and Great lakes 666. Thanks for another great read and your insight.

  2. Any Flying Monkeys – correct. London Pride is on mine too.
    And if you want to put something on for novelty purposes, you have to include the Heineken Mini Keg no?

    Thanks,
    Mookie

Have your say. Leave a comment.

