10 Random Thoughts – June, 2012

10. I still hate the fill from the bottom dispensing system for draft beer at The Rogers Centre.  Maybe it’s just me but I always spill some out the bottom  Past the impenetrable little tab and all.
9. The numbers have been released, last year the LCBO posted a record $1.6 billion in profit for 2011-2012.  Wow!
8. Having a drink while you BBQ is mandatory.  I don’t even know how to operate the BBQ without a drink in my hand.
7. I still can’t find any appreciation for Gin.  Can someone please recommend a particular brand of Gin, or a Gin based drink that you think will change that.  Use the comments section on this post and I will definitely try it.
6. Canada is now up to #31 in the world in terms of total wine production.  Move over Czech Republic we’ve got our sights set on Algeria.
5. I prefer draft beer to bottled beer almost 100% of the time.  Still the only exception I have been able to find is Steamwhistle.  For some reason I prefer Steamwhistle in the bottle.
4. There is no better beer drinking sport out there than Adult 3 pitch softball.  As we embark on the heart of summer I always look forward to our Thursday night games.  Part of me enjoys the game and the competition, another (very big) part of me enjoys the social aspect and the beer.
3. To a large extent I support privatization of alcohol sales in Ontario, but you have to admit the shopping experience at the LCBO is a very enjoyable one.
2. Someone told me once that as you study wine and get more and more involved in critiquing it and writing about it, you will lose your true enjoyment of it and the simple pleasure of drinking it.  I can confirm this statement is completely incorrect.
1. The traffic and page views on this blog continue to trend upwards and more and more people seem to be tuning in with each passing week.  Thank you to everyone!  I hope you are enjoying it and I hope you continue to enjoy it.  Your feedback is always welcome and encouraged.  Let me know what topics you would like to see on here.  Cheers.

One thought on “10 Random Thoughts – June, 2012

  1. 10. Order the tall boys, those never fail. While you are at it, Nude one….
    9. Is profit up because of increased consumption, or simple price increases?
    8. Agreed.
    7. Gin is simple – when you are BBQ’ing just grab a gin and soda, with fresh lemon sqeezed and lots of ice. Lovely!
    6. to 1. Ya man, agreed and/or no comment.

Have your say. Leave a comment.

